Wednesday morning (07 July 2021)

A ceremony to celebrate the winner of the Wacker Silicon Award 2021, followed by a plenary lecture by the winner, will be held at a final ISOS-2021 event just before the closing ceremony.

Martin Oestreich, Professor of the Technical University of Berlin, is the winner of the WACKER Silicone Award 2021.

The highly prestigious WACKER Silicone Award will be granted to an internationally renowned silicon chemist during a special award ceremony as part of this conference. Along with the US Kipping Award, the WACKER Silicone Award is the world’s most prestigious accolade in silicone chemistry. The Award epitomizes the company’s close ties to universities and research institutes and pays tribute to the basic research carried out in the field of silicon chemistry.

Previous winners of the WACKER Silicone Award:

  • 2018  Prof. Dr. Herbert W. Roesky (University of Göttingen, Germany)
  • 2016  Prof. Dr. Alexander C. Filippou (Universität Bonn, Germany)
  • 2014  Prof. Dr. Akira Sekiguchi (Universität Tsukuba, Japan)
  • 2011  Prof. Dr. Matthias Driess (Technische Universität Berlin, Germany)
  • 2009  Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schubert (Technische Universität Wien, Austria)
  • 2007  Prof. Dr. Yitzhak Apeloig (Israel Institute of Technology)
  • 2005  Prof. Dr. Mitsuo Kira (Tohoku University, Japan)
  • 2003  Prof. Dr. Don Tilley (University of California at Berkeley, USA)
  • 2001  Prof. Dr. Manfred Weidenbruch (Universität Oldenburg, Germany)
  • 1998   Prof. Dr. Robert Corriu (Université Montpellier, France)
  • 1996   Prof. Dr. Hubert Schmidbaur (Technische Universität München,  Germany)
  • 1994 Prof. Dr. Edwin Hengge (Technische Universität Graz, Austria)
  • 1992 Prof. Dr. Richard Müller (Technische Universität Dresden, Germany) and
    Prof. Dr. Eugene Rochow (Harvard Univerity, USA)
  • 1991 Prof. Dr. Hideki Sakurai (Science University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • 1989 Prof. Dr. Robert West (University of Winsconsin, USA)
  • 1988 Prof. Dr. Nils Wiberg and Prof. Dr. Reinhold Tacke (Universität Würzburg, Germany)
  • 1987 Prof. Dr. Peter Jutzi (Universität Bielefeld, Germany) and Prof. Dr. Norbert Auner (Universität Frankfurt, Germany)